POS comparisonsClover vs OctoPOS
POS HEAD-TO-HEAD · CHECKED August 18, 2026

Clover vs OctoPOS

Clover is the broader retail platform with visible direct baselines and a large app ecosystem. OctoPOS is the more grocery-specific option, but its commercial terms are almost entirely quote based.

Exactly two systemsFirst-party sourcesUnknowns stay visibleNo paid ranking
01 — THE SHORT ANSWER

The decision in plain English.

PRIMARY TRADEOFF

Clover offers a larger ecosystem and clearer baseline; OctoPOS offers more specialized grocery fit with less public commercial transparency.

DECISION RULE

Choose Clover for general retail breadth, device variety, and app options. Choose OctoPOS when grocery-specific workflows such as scales, weighed items, high SKU counts, age controls, EBT, and WIC are non-negotiable.

MERCHANT SCENARIO

A general retailer, service counter, or restaurant-retail hybrid may prefer Clover's device and app breadth. A grocery, convenience, liquor, or smoke shop with specialized lane and benefit requirements may prefer OctoPOS, but only after a full custom quote exposes the implementation, processor, support, and exit economics.

Choose Clover when…

  • Retail, service, counter-service, and restaurant merchants wanting multiple device shapes
  • Buyers who value an app marketplace and broad distribution
  • Merchants willing to compare the direct offer with reseller-specific terms
View Clover overview →

Choose OctoPOS when…

  • Independent grocery, convenience, liquor, smoke, and inventory-heavy retail
  • Stores needing weighted items, scanner scales, age verification, EBT, or WIC workflows
  • Buyers willing to obtain a complete custom configuration
View OctoPOS overview →
02 — PRICING IS THE BIG SECTION

Compare the complete economics.

Clover gives buyers a direct benchmark, then requires seller-specific diligence. OctoPOS requires a full custom store quote from the start. The comparison should be lane for lane and peripheral for peripheral.

Clover

Direct software and hardware pricing is visible, but the seller and purchase path can change rates, term, and exit economics

OctoPOS

One custom plan is advertised, but software, processing, hardware, implementation, contract, and exit prices are not publicly stated

CLOVER TOTAL-COST DRIVERS
  1. Direct versus bank/ISO/reseller purchase path
  2. Selected software plan and business vertical
  3. Outright hardware purchase versus long subscription
  4. Processing model and card-present/keyed mix
  5. Third-party app subscriptions and accessories
  6. Early termination and equipment obligations
OCTOPOS TOTAL-COST DRIVERS
  1. Store count, lanes, cashier and customer displays
  2. Scales, scanners, deli, age-verification, and grocery peripherals
  3. Processor and payment program
  4. Catalog migration, training, and implementation
  5. Support, annual fees, contract, and termination terms
  6. Optional online, loyalty, marketing, and analytics services
01

Software and plans

Clover

Starter$0/location/month

Clover-direct entry plan with the highest published direct card-present rate. Additional devices are $11.95 monthly each except Clover Go.

Essentials$29.95/location/month

Clover-direct plan for expanded inventory, reporting, website, estimates, time tracking, and App Market access in eligible verticals.

Retail or Services Growth$84.95/location/month

Published direct Growth price for retail and service businesses; the selected vertical controls the included operating features.

Restaurant Growth$89.95/location/month

Published direct restaurant plan with table mapping, split bills, preauthorization, tableside ordering, kitchen routing, and online ordering.

Reseller offerVaries

Banks, ISOs, and processors can set different processing, fees, hardware, and contract terms.

OctoPOS

One PlanCustom quote

The vendor describes a broad feature bundle with unlimited products, employees, reports, loyalty, analytics, inventory, and support.

02

Payment processing

Clover

Direct card present — Starter2.6% + 10¢

Published Clover-direct tapped, dipped, or swiped rate for Starter.

Direct card present — Essentials2.5% + 10¢

Published Clover-direct tapped, dipped, or swiped rate for Essentials.

Direct card present — Growth2.3% + 10¢

Published Clover-direct tapped, dipped, or swiped rate for retail, services, and restaurant Growth plans.

Direct keyed3.5% + 10¢ on reviewed direct plans

Verify the selected plan and current checkout before signing.

Reseller processingWritten quote required

A Clover device does not identify the underlying processor pricing model.

OctoPOS

Payment processingProcessor-dependent written offer

Confirm the processor, pricing model, markup, debit/EBT treatment, gateway, PCI, annual, and termination fees.

03

Hardware

Clover

Go reader and Compact$49 reader; $349 Compact or $16/month

Published Clover-direct purchase prices; the Compact subscription figure is hardware only.

FlexFrom $749

Portable POS and payment device; purchase or subscription path may be offered.

Mini$849 or $45/month

Compact countertop POS.

Station Solo and Duo$1,799/$89 monthly; $1,899/$95 monthly

Published hardware-only purchase and 36-month subscription figures. Software is additional.

KioskQuote required

Confirm device, software, accessories, installation, and term.

Kitchen displays$799 14-inch or $899 24-inch + $25/device/month

Published hardware plus the required recurring KDS device fee.

OctoPOS

All-in-one store bundleCustom quote

Published hardware descriptions include cashier and customer displays, payment terminal, printer, and cash drawer; prices are not stated.

Grocery peripheralsCustom quote

Scales, scanners, deli, receipt, cash, and payment peripherals must be configured for the actual store.

04

Required and common add-ons

Clover

Hardware subscription36- or 48-month non-cancelable options may be offered

Different from buying equipment outright; early termination treatment varies.

App marketplace subscriptionsThird-party pricing

Useful breadth, but each required app can add its own subscription and contract.

Accessories and additional devices$11.95 Starter or $19.95 Growth per extra device monthly

Clover Go is excluded from the additional-device fee. Printers, drawers, scanners, displays, networking, and accessories remain separate.

Kitchen display subscription$25/device/month

Recurring fee on top of the $799 or $899 display hardware.

OctoPOS

Implementation and data migrationQuote required

Confirm catalog import, weighted-item setup, tax, EBT/WIC, training, and go-live support.

Online ordering and ecommerceNot clearly published

Do not price it as included until the exact module and merchant workflow are demonstrated and quoted.

03 — CONTRACTS & GOTCHAS

What can cost money after the sales call.

Price the exit before pricing the entry. The current order form and agreement control; a product page does not override signed terms.

Contract issueCloverOctoPOS
Initial term

Direct hardware can be purchased outright; non-cancelable 36- or 48-month hardware subscription options may also be offered. Reseller terms vary.

Not published in the reviewed vendor material.

Renewal

Software, processing, and reseller renewal terms depend on the selected offer and agreement.

Not published; the written order and merchant-services agreement must state renewal and notice.

Early exit

Early termination treatment depends on the hardware path and merchant-services agreement; obtain the dollar formula in writing.

Not published; require the dollar formula, equipment treatment, and data-export path before signing.

Equipment

Confirm ownership, processor lock, reuse, return, and replacement terms before purchase or subscription.

Hardware ownership, financing, warranty, replacement, processor portability, and return obligations must be stated in the quote.

Future changes

The Clover name does not standardize every reseller's fees or terms. The signed seller agreement controls.

Software and processing changes must be evaluated through the signed agreements and future notices.

GOTCHAS

Clover

contract

1. Clover is a platform, not one standardized offer

A direct Clover checkout and a bank or ISO proposal can have different processing, monthly fees, term, support, and termination language.

contract

2. A hardware subscription is not the same as buying

Non-cancelable 36- or 48-month options can turn a device decision into a long obligation. Compare total paid and exit terms against outright purchase.

operations

3. Confirm hardware portability before paying

Ask whether each device can be reused with a different processor or merchant account and whether reprogramming is possible.

cost

4. App breadth can hide recurring stack cost

The marketplace is a strength, but payroll, loyalty, delivery, inventory, and other required apps may each add separate billing.

GOTCHAS

OctoPOS

cost

1. The entire commercial model is quote based

No public software price, processing rate, hardware price, contract term, or termination formula was found. A complete written schedule is mandatory.

operations

2. Grocery fit depends on the exact peripheral stack

Scales, scanners, deli workflows, EBT/WIC, age verification, customer display, printers, and lane count must be demonstrated together.

operations

3. Support language is broader than the published SLA

The vendor advertises 24/7 human support and dedicated account management, but specific response and resolution targets are not public.

operations

4. Online ordering should not be assumed

Require a live demonstration, exact module name, menu/inventory sync behavior, processing path, and price.

04 — OPERATING FIT

How the systems differ after go-live.

A useful demo uses the busiest, messiest workflow: modifiers, refunds, split tenders, offline payments, receiving, closeout, and reporting.

01

Restaurant depth

Clover: Broad, package and app dependent

Counter service, full service, handheld, online ordering, kitchen, and app integrations are available; confirm what is native versus added.

OctoPOS: Not the primary fit

The platform is centered on grocery and convenience retail rather than full-service restaurant operations.

02

Retail and inventory

Clover: Strong device and app breadth

Multiple retail plans, scanners, inventory tools, ecommerce connections, and apps support varied store formats.

OctoPOS: Grocery-specialized

Weighted items, high SKU counts, scanner scales, age verification, EBT/WIC, loyalty, and store analytics are central use cases.

03

Online ordering

Clover: Plan and integration dependent

Confirm the included storefront, delivery connections, processing rate, and any partner subscriptions.

OctoPOS: Requires demonstration and quote

The reviewed pricing and grocery pages do not establish a complete published online-ordering package.

04

Offline operations

Clover: Configuration dependent

Test the exact device, network, and processor behavior before treating offline support as complete.

OctoPOS: Vendor claims need workflow verification

Test payment, EBT, inventory, and multi-lane behavior during a real outage scenario.

05

Processor choice

Clover: Seller dependent

Clover is widely distributed, but a purchased device may not be portable between processors or merchant accounts.

OctoPOS: Offer dependent

Confirm which processors are supported and whether the merchant can change providers without replacing hardware.

06

Implementation and support

Clover: Direct or reseller delivered

Support quality, installation, training, replacement, and escalation can depend on who sold the account.

OctoPOS: 24/7 support advertised; SLA not published

Confirm response targets, dedicated-account coverage, onsite work, migration, training, and escalation in writing.

05 — REQUIRE IT IN WRITING

Questions that belong in the final offer.

Do not accept “standard” as an answer. Attach the rate schedule, equipment schedule, renewal language, and a worked exit example.

Ask Clover

  1. Who is the processor and who owns support after installation?
  2. Is each device purchased, financed, rented, or on a non-cancelable subscription?
  3. Can the hardware be reused with another processor or merchant account?
  4. What are the complete processing, software, app, annual, PCI, and termination charges?

Ask OctoPOS

  1. What is the complete software, processing, hardware, implementation, annual, and support price schedule?
  2. What are the initial term, renewal, notice, termination, and equipment-return terms?
  3. Which grocery peripherals and government-benefit workflows are included in the quoted configuration?
  4. Can the processor change without replacing hardware, and how is store data exported?
BE CAREFUL IF…

Clover may not fit when

  • Buyers who assume every Clover offer has the same rate or contract
  • Merchants that do not want to validate hardware and processor portability
  • Operators choosing a long hardware subscription without modeling the exit
BE CAREFUL IF…

OctoPOS may not fit when

  • Merchants requiring published self-service pricing
  • Restaurant operators needing deep table-service workflows
  • Buyers unwilling to validate every commercial term in writing
06 — SOURCES & METHOD

Current facts, visible unknowns.

Clover and OctoPOS sources were checked through August 18, 2026. Provider pages can change; a current signed offer and agreement control.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Clover vs OctoPOS FAQ

Which is better for a convenience store?

OctoPOS is more explicitly designed for grocery and convenience operations. Clover can fit many stores, but the specific inventory, scale, age-verification, EBT, and WIC workflow must be tested.

Which publishes more pricing?

Clover publishes direct software and hardware baselines. OctoPOS uses custom pricing and does not publish a complete rate, device, contract, or termination schedule.

What should the demo prove?

Run item import, barcode lookup, weighed items, age prompts, EBT/WIC, returns, split tender, inventory receiving, employee controls, outage behavior, and end-of-day reconciliation on the exact hardware.

MAKE IT MERCHANT-SPECIFIC

Now compare the written offers—not the marketing pages.

Derived can use your operation and current statement to identify the missing costs, contract questions, and exact configuration that belongs in the final comparison.

Get a POS quote →Free statement analysis →